Presented by

Cultivating the Seven Factors of Awakening

Virtual | Feb 2022

The Buddha gave great emphasis on cultivating seven mental qualities—

  • 1) mindfulness
  • 2) investigation
  • 3) energy
  • 4) joy
  • 5) tranquility
  • 6) concentration
  • 7) equanimity

These are known as the seven factors of awakening—on the path to freedom from suffering. He said, "These seven awakening factors, bhikkhus (monks, practitioners), are noble and emancipating. They lead the one who acts upon them to the complete destruction of suffering." We explore the role of these qualities—and how each helps in the development of the next factor—in cultivating freedom of the heart.  

Talks in this series